Located in Florence, the 16th century historic residence known as Palazzo Guadagni, happily transformed into a refined 3 star hotel, confirms its long and dedicated vocation to hospitality.
In Piazza Santo Spirito at the corner of Via Mazzetta around a central courtyard, Palazzo Guadagni stands out with its loggia, renovated as a charming rooftop garden overlooking the historic center and the Florentine Hills.
At the ground floor the Renaissance style walls are in pietraforte, a typical Florentine stone that protrudes from the outside. The interior of this elegant structure from the 1500s has been beautifully restored, displaying fine spaces characterized by elegant lounges, frescoed walls and antique furniture.
This area of the historic center of Florence was originally set up by artisans and merchants. Not by coincidence, Palazzo Guadagni was built at the request of the silk merchant, Riniero di Bernardo Dei.
The residence came later on, as a legacy to the “Compagnia dei Buonomini di San Martino” welfare association, which then sold it to the Guadagni family in an auction.
The original plan, attributed to the architect Simone del Pollaiolo (Il Cronaca), was followed in the 19th century by modern renovations including the construction of a new entrance for carriages from Piazza Santo Spirito.
Palazzo Guadagni became the setting for the story of the King of Italy when, in 1865, Florence became Italy's capital. It was then that the urban minister Rattazzi resided in this old Florentine residence.
Later, with the stay of count Valfredo della Gherardesca, the residence got its aristocratic connotation.
The social relevance of Palazzo Guadagni for the Santa Croce neighborhood was enhanced in the twentieth century when it was home to the Pensione Sorelle Bandini and the German Institute for Art History, as well as when it became the seat of the still active Pietro Thouar town library, the first in Florence.